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Renewal Expiration Date:  12/31/14 

 Renewal Fee:  $120.   PARTNERSHIP #  
 Renewal of Expired Certificate of Registration:  $60. 
 FEE WAIVED This fee shall be waived if the firm consists 
 of only one person who is the registered architect. 
 Indicate Certificate of Authorization number on check. Yes, I want to renew. No, I do not want to renew. 
 Make checks payable to:  General Treasurer, State of RI. 

 
Name under which services will be offered: (It is your responsibility to keep the Board apprised of all address 

and phone number changes.) 
Name:  
    Change of Address (If Applicable) 
Address:  
   

Phone:  (       )   Fax: (      )    
Email:  ___________________________________________________ 
 
PART I LIST ALL RHODE ISLAND REGISTERED ARCHITECTS IN RESPONSIBLE CONTROL WHO ACT ON BEHALF 

OF THE PARTNERSHIP. (Provide attachment for additional names.)   
The architects listed in “responsible control” must be partners per RIGL 5-1-15.1. 
I hereby certify that I am familiar with and agree to comply with the Rhode Island laws and rules and regulations governing the practice of architecture in 
the State of Rhode Island.   
 Name  Identify Title  RI Registration No. 
   President, Vice President, or Sec/Treasurer 
 
 
 
 
PART II  ANSWER THE FOLLOWING THREE QUESTIONS 

1. Number of People in the Firm excluding self:      
 

2. Have you or any person in the firm or partner practiced, or solicited architectural work or represented their self as an architect in this State prior 
to having been registered?   
Yes   No   If yes, briefly explain on an attachment and attach documentation presented. 

 
3. Has any State Board made you or any person in the firm or partner the subject of a formal or informal hearing or inquiry, complaint, or 

disciplinary action related to their registration to practice architecture in any state since your last renewal?     
Yes _____ No ______ If yes, briefly explain on an attachment, indicate the jurisdiction and attach a copy of the jurisdiction’s final decision. 

 
 
PART III LIST THE NAMES OF ALL OF THE PARTNERS FOR COMPLIANCE WITH RIGL 5-1-15.1.  

(Provide attachment for additional names.) 
 

Name Identify Position Identify Title Identify Profession 
 Partner Pres., Vice President, or Sec/Treasurer 
 
 
 
 
 
PART IV  SIGNATURE REQUIRED 

I am aware that the Certificate of Authorization may be revoked if any partner, agent or person of the partnership violates or causes to be violated any 
provisions of those laws or rules and regulations governing the practice of architecture in the State of Rhode Island. 
 
 
Signature of Applicant:      Title:     Date:    
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

For Office Use only:
Check#__________ 
Date:_______   Amt.____ 
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Tax Payer Status Affidavit / Identity Verification 
 
 
 

All persons applying or renewing any license, registration, permit or other authority (hereinafter called “licensee”) to conduct 
a business or occupation in the state of Rhode Island are required to file all applicable tax returns and pay all taxes owed to 
the state prior to receiving a license as mandated by state law (RIGL 5-76) except as noted below. 
 

In order to verify that the state is not owed taxes, licensees are required to provide their Social 
Security Number and Federal Tax Identification Number as appropriate.  These numbers will be 
transmitted to the Division of Taxation to verify tax status prior to the issuance of a license.  This 
declaration must be made prior to the issuance of a license. 

 

Please return this affidavit along with your license application to: 
Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation, 1511 Pontiac 
Avenue, Cranston, RI 02920. 

 
Licensee Declaration 

 
 I hereby declare, under penalty of perjury, that I have filed all required state tax returns and have paid all taxes owed. 

 I have entered a written installment agreement to pay delinquent taxes that is satisfactory to the Tax Administrator. 

 I am currently pursuing administrative review of taxes owed to the state. 

 I am in federal bankruptcy.   (Case #_____________________________) 

 I am in state receivership.     (Case #_____________________________) 

 I have been discharged from Bankruptcy.  (Case #__________________) 
________________________________________________________________________ 
Type of Professional License for which you are applying 
 
___________________________________ _____________________________________ 
Full Name (Please Print or Type) Social Security Number (or FEIN if appropriate) 
 
___________________________________ ______________________________________ 
Signature Phone Number (including area code if not 401) 
 
Date_______________________________ 
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR PARTNERSHIPS 
 
1. Complete the Partnership number in the box in the upper right hand corner. 
 
2. Complete the box in the upper right hand corner indicating whether or not the Partnership wishes 

to renew. 
 
3. Complete the Partnership name and address and change of address, if applicable.   
 
4. Please note if the Partnership has had a “Name Change” or a “Change in Responsible Control” 

that was not reported to the Board, an “Amended Application Package” must be submitted along 
with, and in addition to, the “Renewal Application Package.” 

 
5. Complete Parts I, II, III and IV.   
 
6. Complete the “Tax Payer Status Affidavit/Identity Verification” form. 
 
7. Incomplete renewal application packages will be returned for correction.   
 
8. If the renewal application package is postmarked or received after December 31st, the renewal of 

certificate of registration fee, as indicated on the renewal application, will apply and must be 
included with the renewal application package and all other applicable fee(s).   

 
9. (a)  The renewal fee shall be waived if the firm consists of only one person who is the registered 

architect. 
(b) If the renewal fee is waived and the renewal application is postmarked or received after 

December 31st the renewal of certificate of registration fee only, as indicated on the renewal 
application, must be included with the renewal application package. 

 
10. Mail the renewal application package including the application, tax payer status affidavit/identity 

verification form and applicable renewal fee(s) to this Board   
 
11. After review and acceptance of the renewal application, the Partnership will be sent a renewal 

letter and a sticker to be placed on the wall certificate that was previously sent with the initial 
approval package. 
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Rhode Island General Laws 
TITLE 5 

Businesses and Professions 

CHAPTER 5-1 
Architects 

 

§ 5-1-15.1 Certificate of authorization for sole proprietorships, partnerships, limited liability partnerships, 
corporations or limited liability companies. – (a) A sole proprietorship, partnership, limited liability partnership, 
corporation or limited liability company shall be admitted to practice architecture in this state if:  

 (1) Two-thirds ( 2/3) of the partners (if a partnership or limited liability partnership) two-thirds ( 2/3) of the directors and 
officers (or shareholders if there are no directors, if a corporation) or two-thirds ( 2/3) of the managers (or members if there 
are no managers, if a limited liability company) are registered under the laws of any state or any reciprocal jurisdiction as 
defined by the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards to practice architecture or engineering;  

 (2) One-third ( 1/3) of the partners (if a partnership or limited liability partnership) or one-third ( 1/3) of the directors and 
officers (or shareholders if there are no directors, if a corporation), or one-third ( 1/3) of the managers (or members if there 
are no managers, if a limited liability company) are registered under the laws of any state or reciprocal jurisdiction as defined 
by the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards to practice architecture; and  

 (3) The person having the practice of architecture in his or her charge is himself or herself a partner (if a partnership or 
limited liability partnership) a director or officer (or shareholders if there are no directors, if a corporation) or a manager (or 
members if there are no managers, if a limited liability company) and registered to practice architecture in this state.  

 (b) The board is empowered to require any sole proprietorship, partnership, or limited liability partnership, corporation or 
limited liability company practicing architecture in this state to file information concerning its partners, shareholders, officers, 
directors, members, managers, and other aspects of its business organization, upon any forms that the board prescribes.  

 (c) The practice or offer to practice architecture as defined by this chapter by a sole proprietorship, partnership, limited 
liability partnership, corporation, or limited liability company subsequently referred to as the "firm", through one or more 
architects registered under the provisions of this chapter, is permitted provided that the registered architect or architects are 
in direct control of the practice or exercise responsible control of all personnel who act in behalf of the firm in professional 
and technical matters; and provided, that the firm has been issued a certificate of authorization by this board.  

 (d) Within one year after the enactment of this chapter, every firm must obtain a certificate of authorization from this 
board, and those individuals in direct control of the practice or who exercise responsible control of all personnel who act in 
behalf of the firm in professional and technical matters must be registered with the board. The certificate of authorization 
shall be issued by the board upon satisfaction of the provisions of this chapter and the payment of a fee as determined by 
the board in accordance with § 5-1-11. This fee shall be waived if the firm consists of only one person who is the registered 
architect. Every firm must file an application for a certificate of authorization with the board on a form provided by the board.  

 (e) Every certificate of authorization is valid for a period of two (2) years and expires on the last day of December of 
each even numbered year following its issuance. A separate form provided by the board shall be filed with each renewal of 
the certificate of authorization. The firm shall complete a renewal form within thirty (30) days of the time any information 
previously filed with the board has changed, is no longer true or valid, or has been revised for any reason. If, in the board's 
judgment, the information contained on the application and/or renewal form is satisfactory and complete, the board will issue 
a certificate of authorization for the firm to practice architecture in this state. The board may require all applicants for renewal 
to provide the board with information, including but not limited to, a brief outline setting forth the professional activities of any 
applicant during a period in which a certificate of authorization has lapsed and other evidence of the continued competence 
and good character of the applicant, all as the board deems necessary.  


